top of page

Vegan Crepes


Sometimes, I reminisce about my days living in Italy. I briefly was there for a school exchange program when I was 15. I loved every second of that program from when my, who I like to refer to as my Italian sister, Chiara came to stay with us to when I was wandering the cobblestoned streets with her looking for gelato. One good that everyone knows and enjoys there the most it seems is Nutella. It was always fun to go anywhere and try a new Nutella flavored treat. Every morning I actually enjoyed some for breakfast with my coffee!




Now Nutella isn't vegan friendly but I recently discovered a much better equivalent, Nocciolata. I found it in Whole Foods and it is divine. It is truly a hazelnut cocoa spread. Not as sweet as Nutella and more rich. My heart has been so happy ever since! So on this rainy, spring day, I made us some crepes to best enjoy it.


You can fill crepes with anything you like actually but a classic one to me is Nutella with strawberries. Making crepes is easy, just takes a long time and some skill with the pan. Without further ado, here are my vegan crepes.




 

Vegan Crepe Recipe:


Ingredients:


1 cup of flour

1 cup of non-dairy mylk

1/2 cup of unsweetened apple sauce

1 pinch of salt

1 tablespoon of oil or melted vegan butter


Method:

  1. Mix all ingredients until smooth and the consistency should be thinner and looser than a pancake mix.

  2. Heat a skillet on low and add some oil to it unless using a non-stick pan.

  3. Pour a 1/2 cup of the batter into the skillet and tilt the pan around in a circle to thin out the batter and make a nice big thin crepe.

  4. Cook on each side for about 5 minutes or until you see the edges lifting and some brown spots on the crepes.

  5. Assemble your crepes however your heart desires! Fill with fun combinations like spreads and fruit, cream cheese and preserves or whipped cream and fruit. You can fold them or roll them.

*Optional to top with syrup and powdered sugar.



Well, thank you for coming down memory lane with me. Its nice to have crepes instead of pancakes sometimes. I hope you try this recipe and feel fancy yet cozy. Take care and I will chat with you next time. -Carrie

bottom of page